State ladder: apprentice → journeyman → master
Oklahoma Construction Industries Board (CIB) runs plumbing licensing in Oklahoma. Below: the exact ladder, the transfer doors into Oklahoma from all 50 states, the renewal and lapse lines, and the master-of-record rule for opening a company — every figure from the board's own publications, checked October 22, 2026.
State ladder: apprentice → journeyman → master Checked in part Checked October 22, 2026
Checked in part. Journeyman experience routes, apprentice registration and ratios, the 6-hour CE rule, the Arkansas reciprocity guideline, and the contractor bond/insurance figures are from CIB's own pages and OAC 158:30-9-1 (accessed 2026-10-22). Not confirmed on a primary source: exact application/license/exam fee amounts and any lapse/reinstatement window — secondary guides conflict on fees ($75 total journeyman cost vs separate exam fees), so fee fields are null. Correction applied: the CIB and OAC define journeyman experience as 3 years with no hour total, so hoursTotal is null; the '6,000 hours' figure in most web guides is a conversion that does not appear in the rule.
| The ladder | Oklahoma |
|---|---|
| Journeyman credential | Journeyman Plumber |
| Total hours required | not published |
| Classroom hours | not published |
| Apprentice registration | Required — hours count only while registered |
| Exam | Third-party testing vendor assigned by the CIB after application approval — After CIB approval the applicant is given the testing vendor's contact information to schedule the examination (CIB journeyman page, accessed 2026-10-22). Exam retakes: 30 days after the first failure, 90 days after subsequent failures (CIB). Exam fee amount was not stated on the CIB pages checked, so fee is null. A journeyman must perform work under a licensed plumbing contractor and may supervise up to 3 apprentices. |
| License fee | Not published |
| Renewal | Every Not confirmed on a primary source checked 2026-10-22 — see partialNote |
| Continuing education | 6 hours of approved continuing education within the preceding 36 months of license expiration, for all journeymen and contractors (CIB plumbing page, accessed 2026-10-22) |
| Master credential | Plumbing Contractor (Oklahoma has no master license; the contractor is the top tier) |
Registration, in the board’s terms: All plumbing helpers performing plumbing work must be registered as apprentices with the CIB and directly supervised by a journeyman or contractor, in a ratio of no more than 3 apprentices to 1 journeyman or contractor; only experience gained while registered counts as verifiable experience toward licensure, unless lawfully obtained while exempt (CIB plumbing pages; OAC 158:30-9-1, accessed 2026-10-22). The contractor or approved school instructor must sign the apprentice application every year.
Plumbing Contractor (Oklahoma has no master license; the contractor is the top tier): Meet all journeyman examination requirements plus 1 additional year of experience in the plumbing trade (OAC 158:30-9-1(l), accessed 2026-10-22), then pass the contractor examination. The license stays inactive until the CIB receives proof of the $5,000 corporate surety bond and at least $50,000 of commercial general liability insurance (CIB Active Contractor Requirements, accessed 2026-10-22).
Contractor application/license fee amounts were not stated on the CIB pages checked 2026-10-22 (secondary guides report $330 total), so examFee is null.
A lapse/reinstatement window was not stated on the CIB plumbing pages checked 2026-10-22. Separately, a contractor license becomes inactive if its bond or insurance lapses, and contracting with an inactive license is a violation (CIB).
Reinstatement: Not confirmed on a primary source checked 2026-10-22.
Past the line: Not confirmed on a primary source checked 2026-10-22.
Oklahoma endorses journeyman licenses from: Arkansas. The CIB publishes 'Guidelines for Plumbing Journeyman License through Arkansas Reciprocity' (linked from the CIB plumbing page, accessed 2026-10-22), and OAC 158:30-9-1(k)(3) allows an out-of-state license to be considered for reciprocity where a written reciprocity agreement exists with that state, the license is current and in good standing, and the applicant meets the 3-year experience qualification. Arkansas is the only state named in CIB material checked in this pass. Otherwise, a current out-of-state license in good standing is itself one of the qualifying routes to sit for the Oklahoma journeyman exam.
| Licensed in | Door into Oklahoma | |
|---|---|---|
| Alabama | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| Alaska | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| Arizona | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| Arkansas | Endorsement available | Run the pair → |
| California | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| Colorado | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| Connecticut | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| Delaware | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| District of Columbia | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| Florida | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| Georgia | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| Hawaii | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| Idaho | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| Illinois | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| Indiana | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| Iowa | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| Kansas | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| Kentucky | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| Louisiana | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| Maine | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| Maryland | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| Massachusetts | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| Michigan | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| Minnesota | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| Mississippi | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| Missouri | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| Montana | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| Nebraska | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| Nevada | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| New Hampshire | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| New Jersey | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| New Mexico | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| New York | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| North Carolina | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| North Dakota | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| Ohio | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| Oregon | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| Pennsylvania | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| Rhode Island | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| South Carolina | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| South Dakota | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| Tennessee | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| Texas | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| Utah | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| Vermont | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| Virginia | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| Washington | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| West Virginia | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| Wisconsin | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
| Wyoming | No endorsement — exam route | Run the pair → |
Included in the $49 PlumberLicenseCheck Kit
One payment. Yours to keep. The checkers above stay free either way.
The seat: Active licensed Plumbing Contractor. Only an active licensed plumbing contractor may contract for plumbing work; journeymen and apprentices must work under one. The contractor license does not activate until the CIB has the bond and insurance on file, and it goes inactive if the insurance lapses (CIB, accessed 2026-10-22).
Insurance minimum: $50,000 commercial general liability insurance plus a $5,000 corporate surety bond payable to the Construction Industries Board, both in the individual license holder's name (CIB Active Contractor Requirements, accessed 2026-10-22)
State CIB licensing controls; Oklahoma City, Tulsa and other jurisdictions add local registration/permit requirements on top of the state license for work in their jurisdictions (not re-verified city-by-city in this pass).
Run the owner gate for your situation →
Rules as published by Oklahoma Construction Industries Board (CIB) and the statutes it administers, checked October 22, 2026. Board: https://oklahoma.gov/cib/your-industry/plumbing.html